Current Events

Joel Klein Hands Out Bonuses To Superintendents Who No Longer Work For the Department of Education

Chancellor Joel Klein has given out more than a half-million dollars in bonuses to 43 former district superintendents and deputy superintendents, some of whom have left the system altogether.
Patricia Synan, former superintendent of District 14 in Brooklyn, received the most, $32,000. She is now an instructional supervisor in Region 5,covering Brooklyn and Queens.
Richard Organisciak, former superintendent of alternative high schools, was second with $29,000. Helen Santiago of District 1, and Dennis Pradier of District 5, both in Manhattan; Stanley Mims of District 9 and Marlene Filewich of District 11, both in the Bronx; Paula Speed, District 18, Victor Rodriguez, District 19, and Kathleen Cashin, District 23, all in Brooklyn; and Michael Johnson, of District 29 in Queens all received between $20,000-$29,000.
Former District 2 Superintendent Shelley Harwayne, Former District 3 Superintendent Patricia Romandetto, and Claire McIntee of District 26, Queens, collected $8,000 each.
Staten Island's superintendent, Christy Cugini, received $17,000.
"The ultimate purpose behind the program was to promote enhancements in superintendent performance," said a department spokeswoman, Michele McManus."The initial data shows that the bonus program did just that and we intend to use this information when we consider creating incentives programs in the future."

High schools: those regarded as the best collected the least. Queens High School superintendent John Lee, who now works in the Central office, received $3,000; Bronx High School chief Norman Wechsler, who retired, earned $8,000.

In the Chancellor's District, comprised of the city's worst schools, five superintendents split $16,000; therefore the supervising superintendent, Sandra Kase did not receive the full amount.

Deputy superintendents in District 10,the Bronx,and District 23,Brooklyn, also collected awards.
In the Bronx's District 12, Althea Serrant was the only superintendent who didn't receive a bonus. The Brooklyn high school district wasn't included because Superintendents were changed in the middle of last year.